Sharad Yadav disqualified from Rajyasabha


The Mahagathbandhan was a pre-poll alliance between the JD (U), RJD and Congress that had been stitched together by Lalu Prasad, Nitish Kumar, Sharad Yadav and the Congress leadership in a bid to stop the BJP's victory march at the hustings under Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah's leadership. "Like Ceasar's wife, the Rajya Sabha Chairman's decision must be above questioning, but the disqualification of Rajya Sabha MPs Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar casts a shadow", Yechury tweeted.

The Left parties today questioned the decision to disqualify rebel JD (U) leaders Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar from the Rajya Sabha. The first setback for Sharad Yadav has emerged in 2014 when he lost the Lok Sabha elections.

Both the leaders were disqualified after Nitish faction filed a petition before Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu, seeking action against them on grounds that they had attended RJD's rally in August this year.

Citing paragraph 2 (1)(a) of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India, Naidu said that Yadav and Anwar 'have thus ceased to be members of the Rajya Sabha with immediate effect'.

Yadav had joined hands with the opposition after JD (U) president and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kuamar dumped the Grand Alliance in Bihar and tied up with the BJP.

"The decision will set an example for people like Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar to not take steps against majority decisions in the party", he said.

The JDU members had in August chose to strike off Yadav's name from the MPs list in Rajya Sabha, after Yadav was noted for criticising the party and its cadres, the Times of India reported.

A communication regarding the two Rajya Sabha MPs' disqualification from the House was issued by Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu, who is also the chairman of the Upper House of Parliament, late last night.