Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award


Senior quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Maxwell Award Thursday evening, which is given to the best player in the nation.

Love would win the Doak Walker, which is given to the nation's top running back, beating out Barkley and Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor. Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, the other finalist and last year's Heisman Trophy victor, was third in the award announced Thursday.

The Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, Mayfield is the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. His 129 career touchdown passes are second-most in Big 12 history, five behind Graham Harrell's record of 134.

Love and Louisville's Lamar Jackson each earned two first-place votes for the AP award.

He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma. "I'm on this awards trip right now with a lot of great players from OU and other schools, and every one of them deserves to be recognized".

Mayfield was the first player to be a three-time finalist since the award began naming just three finalists in 1991. "Obviously I'm very happy and thankful that I'm being recognized with this".

Oklahoma tight end Mark Andrews won the Mackey Award, for top tight end. "The Hornung Award is not only honoring the most versatile player in college football, but is also recognizing one of the best people in college football". He also ranks second in passing touchdowns (41), third in total offense (357.7 ypg) and fourth in passing yards (333.8 per game).

"This is special to me", Mayfield said of the AP award in a release. He was in Atlanta for the ESPN's college football awards show at the Hall of Fame.

OU tight end Mark Andrews was announced Wednesday as victor of the Mackey Award, given to the nation's top tight end, and OU's Connor McGinnis won the Mortell Award for Holder of the Year on Thursday.