Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year


The Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo and the Twins' Paul Molitor were awarded Baseball Writers Association of America's Manager of the Year award. They beat Colorado in the NL wild-card game before getting swept by the Dodgers in the Division Series.

Dave Roberts of the Dodgers and Bud Black of the Rockies finished second and third in the voting.

How's that for a rookie campaign?

A native of Santa Monica, Calif., Lovullo was an All-American for the Bruins in 1987 and became the first Pac-10 player to repeat as the conference's player of the year. The Twins lost in the one-game Wild Card playoff by the Yankees.

Roberts received five first-place votes while Black and Counsell received three apiece. Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers finished fourth and Dusty Baker, who was sacked by the Washington Nationals, finished fifth. The Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona, the 2016 victor, was the runner-up with 11 first-place votes. Houston Astros skipper A.J. Hinch finished third.

Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins was named Lovullo's counterpart as the American League Manager of the Year. Nobody expected a postseason berth for the Twins - perhaps not even their front office, because they were sellers at the trade deadline.

Molitor, who was elected to the Hall of Fame as a player in 2004, is the second Hall of Famer to be named Manager of the Year.

Following the announcement, make your voice heard by voting for Best Manager in the Esurance MLB Awards, where baseball legends, media, front-office personnel and fans come together to pick the winners, with postseason accomplishments factored in.