Double delight for Sunweb at Road World Championships


"Like we said from the start it was never going to be easy".

A strong Subweb team featuring Michael Matthews, Giro d'Italia victor Tom Dumoulin, Wilco Kelderman, Lennard Kämna, Sam Oomen, and Soren Kragh Andersen today succeeded at further dethroning the BMC Racing Team in the favorite discipline the BMC squad has made a habbit of winning: the Worlds Team Time Trial.

"The team was so homogenous, it was absolutely awesome", Dumoulin told after celebrating the victory with his teammates on the podium.

"We tried to keep it together especially on the long climb with around 10 kilometers to go which just worked out".

Giro di'Italia champion Tom Dumoulin led Team Sunweb to victory in the world team time trial in Bergen on Sunday ahead of Rohan Dennis' BMC Racing and Chris Froome's Team Sky over the 42.5km course featuring a tricky late climb. "Froome and Dumoulin, both good climbers and good time trialists, are expected to slug out the individual time trial over the same route on Wednesday".

"We watched the clock as they made the last corner and we counted down the seconds, so we knew we would be world champions", said Rivera. It would be too quick for the first World Tour team, Astana, who would finish 33 seconds down on the Polish outfit at the line.

Meanwhile, German team leader John Degenkolb has pulled out of the world championships in Bergen, Norway with a respiratory problem. had the honour of sitting in the seats reserved for the leading team, although they were quickly unseated by Uno - X Hydrogen Development Team and Joker-Icopal in quick succession.

The team completed the course in an impressive time of 55min 41.63sec to take the lead in the standings. "It was a demanding race on a tough up-and-down course, marked by headwinds".

But there were smiles in the tent as they were unable to do so, giving Sunweb victory in the men's to follow the women's triumph. "We've seen some very unusual results in elections in the last couple of years in all sort of places but I think we're going to have a more interesting and more "normal" congress than in the past".

Dutch riders Lucinda Brand, Floortje Mackaij, Sabrina Stultiens and Ellen Van Dijk were joined by Canada's Leah Kirchmann and the United States' Coryn Rivera on the course. The team stuck to a specific race plan to pull off a spectacular win.